Bob Weir’s Stirring Rendition of ‘Blue Eyes Crying In the Rain’ at ‘Long Story Short: Willie Nelson 90 Live At The Hollywood Bowl’

In the annals of music history, few names resonate as profoundly as Willie Nelson’s. A living legend, Nelson has amassed a legacy that spans generations, touching the hearts and souls of millions with his heartfelt lyrics, soulful melodies, and unmistakable voice. To celebrate Nelson’s remarkable career and enduring influence, a star-studded concert event was held at the iconic Hollywood Bowl, featuring performances from some of music’s biggest names. Among them was Bob Weir, founding member of the Grateful Dead, who delivered a poignant rendition of Nelson’s classic ballad “Blue Eyes Crying In the Rain.”

Captured on the 2CD+Blu-Ray release of “Long Story Short: Willie Nelson 90 Live At The Hollywood Bowl,” Weir’s performance is a masterclass in emotional storytelling and musical prowess. Backed by a stellar band of musicians, including longtime collaborator and fellow Grateful Dead member Mickey Hart, Weir infuses Nelson’s timeless ballad with his own unique style and sensibility, delivering a performance that is both faithful to the original and deeply personal.

As the haunting strains of the melody fill the air, Weir’s soulful vocals take center stage, weaving a tale of love, loss, and longing that resonates with listeners of all ages. With each note, he captures the essence of Nelson’s timeless classic, channeling the pain and heartache of the song’s protagonist with a raw honesty and vulnerability that is truly moving.

Accompanied by lush instrumentation and stirring harmonies, Weir’s performance transports listeners to a world of lost love and bittersweet memories, evoking a sense of nostalgia and longing that is as timeless as the song itself. It’s a testament to the enduring power of Nelson’s music and the profound impact it continues to have on listeners around the world.

In addition to Weir’s stirring rendition of “Blue Eyes Crying In the Rain,” the 2CD+Blu-Ray release of “Long Story Short: Willie Nelson 90 Live At The Hollywood Bowl” includes three hours of video performances from the concert, along with 39 audio tracks and a multi-page booklet. It’s a must-have for any fan of Nelson’s music, offering a front-row seat to one of the most memorable and unforgettable nights in music history.

Long Story Short: Willie Nelson 90 Live At The Hollywood Bowl, 2CD+Blu-Ray includes 3 hours of video performances from the concert along with 3 video bonus performances, 39 audio tracks and a multi-page booklet. 

Long Story Short: Willie Nelson 90 Live At The Hollywood Bowl, a star-studded concert celebrating Willie’s 90thBirthday, was recorded live on Willie’s 90th Birthday before a sold-out audience at the legendary Hollywood Bowl in Los Angeles, California. The two-day event, which took place on April 29 & 30, featured interpretations of many classics from the Willie Nelson songbook with performances by Willie Nelson, Allison Russell, Beck, Billy Strings, Bobby Weir, Booker T. Jones, Buddy Cannon, Charley Crockett, Charlie Sexton, Chris Stapleton, Daniel Lanois, Dave Matthews, Dwight Yoakam, Edie Brickell, Emmylou Harris, Gary Clark Jr., George Strait, Jack Johnson, Jamey Johnson, Keith Richards, Kris Kristofferson, Leon Bridges, Lily Meola, Lukas Nelson, Lyle Lovett, Margo Price, Micah Nelson (Particle Kid), Miranda Lambert, Nathaniel Rateliff, Neil Young, Norah Jones, Orville Peck, Rodney Crowell, Rosanne Cash, Sheryl Crow, Snoop Dogg, Stephen Stills, The Avett Brothers, The Lumineers, Tom Jones, Tyler Childers, Warren Haynes, Waylon Payne, and Ziggy Marley.

Disc 1
1. Whiskey River – Billy Strings
2. Yesterday’s Wine – Charley Crockett
3. Seven Spanish Angels – Allison Russell & Norah Jones
4. Remember Me (When The Candle Lights Are Gleaming) – Edie Brickell & Charlie Sexton
5. Cowboys Are Frequently Secretly Fond Of Each Other – Orville Peck
6. Me And Paul – Dwight Yoakam
7. Die When I’m High (Halfway To Heaven) – Particle Kid & Daniel Lanois
8. Georgia On A Fast Train – Margo Price & Waylon Payne
9. It Ain’t Over Yet- Rodney Crowell, Emmylou Harris, Waylon Payne, Mickey Raphael
10. Hello Walls – Lyle Lovett
11. Hands On The Wheel – Beck
12. Midnight Rider – Warren Haynes
13. Loving Her Was Easier (Than Anything I’ll Ever Do Again) – Rosanne Cash & Kris Kristofferson
14. Funny How Time Slips Away – Dave Matthews
15. Angel Flying Too Close To The Ground – Lukas Nelson
16. City Of New Orleans – Nathaniel Rateliff
17. Stardust – Willie Nelson & Booker T. Jones
18. Will You Remember Mine – Willie Nelson & Lily Meola
19. Something You Get Through – Willie Nelson & Buddy Cannon

Disc 2
1. California Sober – Willie Nelson & Billy Strings
2. Still Is Still Moving To Me – Ziggy Marley
3. Down Yonder – Norah Jones
4. Pick Up The Tempo – The Avett Brothers
5. Pretty Paper – The Lumineers
6. Time Of The Preacher – Tyler Childers and The Food Stamps
7. Night Life – Leon Bridges & Gary Clark Jr.
8. Texas Flood – Gary Clark Jr.
9. Opportunity To Cry – Tom Jones
10. Blue Eyes Crying In the Rain – Bobby Weir
11. Willie Got Me Stoned – Jack Johnson
12. Georgia On My Mind – Jamey Johnson, Warren Haynes, Booker T. Jones
13. Mammas Don’t Let Your Babies Grow Up To Be Cowboys – Miranda Lambert
14. Always On My Mind – Chris Stapleton
15. Are There Any More Real Cowboys? – Willie Nelson, Neil Young, Stephen Stills
16. Far Away Places – Willie Nelson & Sheryl Crow
17. Pancho & Lefty – Willie Nelson & George Strait
18. Roll Me Up And Smoke Me When I Die – Willie Nelson & Snoop Dogg
19. We Had It All – Willie Nelson & Keith Richards
20. On The Road Again & Happy Birthday – All Sing